# THE MPPD MINUTE



## SPATZ, POTTHOFF COMPLETE LINE-MAN TRAINING & SAFETY PROGRAM



Brandon Spatz (left) & Hunter Potthoff receive their certificate for completing the Power Delivery Program through Northwest Lineman College. Both Spatz & Potthoff began their career with MPPD as apprentice linemen in 2020. Apprentice are required to complete the program which consists of a distance learning curriculum combined with on the job training. Congratulations Brandon and Hunter.

# 2023 FREE Youth Energy Leadership Camp

Each year McCook Public Power District accepts applications from area high school students to attend the NREA Youth Energy Leadership Camp. This year's camp will be held at Camp Comeca in Cozad, NE. This camp offers educational and recreational experiences. Through workshops campers learn the legislative process, electric power generation, and careers in the rural electric program. The campers will also take a tour of NPPD's Gerald Gentleman Power Station near North Platte and the Kingsley Hydro-Electric Generating Station at Lake McConaughy. Along with the educational experiences there will also be swimming, sports activities, a talent show, and dancing.

High school students who are currently in the 9<sup>th</sup>, 10<sup>th</sup>, or 11<sup>th</sup> grade and whose home and/or farm is served by McCook Public Power District are eligible to attend camp. Students who are interested in attending camp need to fill out the Youth Energy Leadership Camp form and return to MPPD no later than May 1st. Forms can be picked up at the MPPD office or visit our website at https://www.mppdonline.com to download a form. For questions or more information please contact Becky Siebrandt at 308-345-2500.

Reminder:

call 811 before digging! MPPD

call 811 before digging! MPPD

will locate primary wire owned by

will locate primary wire ont locate

will locate primary does not locate

will locate primary wire beyond the meter.

secondary wire beyond the meter.

# Board of Directors

(308) 367-4319
Heath Bortner, McCook....Vice President
(308) 340-3428
James Ruggles, McCook.....Secretary
(308) 340-9772
Darren Pollmann, Indianola...Treasurer
(308) 340-6033

Todd Deatrich, Maywood......President

Raymond Tillotson, Farnam.....Director (308) 569-2450
Dennis Reiners, Trenton......Director

Dennis Reiners, Trenton......Director (308) 334-5421

The McCook Public Power District Board of Directors meet on the third Tuesday of each month at 9:00am at the District office in McCook, Nebraska. An agenda for the meeting is kept current and is available for inspection at the District office during normal business hours.

### **Elected Board Members Sworn In**



Re-elected board members Raymond Tillotson and Darren Pollmann and newly elected board member Heath Bortner were sworn in during January's board meeting. Raymond has served on the board since 1985 as the Subdivision 2 representative. Darren is beginning his second term as a board member and represents Subdivision 4. Heath is a newly elected board member representing Subdivision 3.

(Left to Right) Raymond Tillotson, Darren Pollmann, Heath Bortner