QUARTERLY NEWS BRIEFS FROM MCGOOK PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

## **NEW EMPLOYEE**



Konor Rakes was hired in May as an apprentice lineman. Konor is a 2020 McCook High School graduate and a recent graduate of Northeast Community College with an Associates of Applied Science in Utility Line. As an Apprentice Lineman, Konor will continue his education in the Power Delivery Program through Northwest Lineman College. This is a distance learning program combined with onthe-job training done at his own pace.

## NREA HOSTS YOUTH TOUR TO WASHINGTON D.C.



Representing MPPD are (left) Matthew Pochop, a 2022 McCook high school graduate and Aimee Merrill, a 2022 Hitchcook Co. high school graduate.

## **SUMMER INTERNS**





Joining our team for the summer are interns, Garrett Latimer, a 2021 Southwest High School graduate and Kameron Meixner, a 2021 McCook High School graduate. Both interns are enrolled at Northeast Community College in the Utility Line Program. As part of the program, students must complete a minimum of 360 hours of training during their summer internship.

On June 23, 2022, 21 high school students from across Nebraska returned from its annual Youth Tour of our Nation's Capital. Each year the Nebraska Rural Electric Association (NREA) hosts the Tour providing rural high school students, representing their public power districts, the opportunity to see the sites of our Nation's Capital first-hand. While on Tour, students visited Gettysburg Battlefield, Mount Vernon, Arlington National Cemetery, and numerous historical sites and monuments around Washington, D.C. Participating students also met with members of the Nebraska Congressional delegation and came together with other rural high school students from across America for the annual National Rural Electric Cooperative Youth Day where they learned about political engagement, leadership, and the pressing issues facing the electric industry today.

## MPPD's CHARTER AMENDMENT 8

On January 19, 2021 the MPPD board approved the proposed Charter Amendment 8 to be submitted to the Nebraska Power Review Board for approval. The proposed amendments included changing the number of board directors from seven members to six, which would then require the subdivision boundaries to be changed. On May 10, 2021, the Nebraska Power Review Board approved the Charter Amendment 8 to reflect the changes recommended by the MPPD board. A map has been included to show the new subdivisions. Legal descriptions of each subdivision are available upon request by contacting our MPPD office at (308) 345-2500 or mppd@mppdonline.com.

Subdivisions and Directors
Subdivision 1—Todd Deatrich
Subdivision 2—Raymond Tillotson
Subdivision 3—Heath Bortner
Subdivision 4—Darren Pollmann
Subdivision 5—Jim Ruggles
Subdivision 6—Dennis Reiners
Board Members' Residence

1	44.05	44.04	11 33	11 32	11 31	11 30	11 29	11 28	11 27	11 26	GJthenbarg	Willow Island	low Island Co2ad	
V	ER DI	57.ice	10 33	10 32	10 31 L			10 28	10 27	<b>10</b> 26	10 25	Co2		
	9 35	9 34	9 33	9 32	9 31 1	Wellfleet 9 30	9 29	9 28	9 27	9 26	9 25 Farnam	9 24	9 23	
	8 35	8 34	8 33	8 32	8 31		Maywood 8 29	8 28 Curtis	Moorefield 8 27	8 26	8 <del>2</del> 5	Eustis 8 24	82	
	7 35	7 34	7 33	7 32	7 31	<b>3</b> 7 30			2 727 Stockville	7 26	7 25	7 24	7 2	
	6 35	6 34	6 33	6 32	6 31				6 27	6 26	6 25	6 24	62	
ta	5 35 Hamlet	5 34	5 33	5 32	5 31	<b>★</b> 30			5 27	5 26	5 25	5 24	52	
6	4 35	Palisac 4 34	4 33	4 32	4 31	4 30 <b>5</b>	4 29	4 28 *	4 27	4 26	4 25 Cambridge	Holbroo	Holbrook A	
	3 35	3 34	3 33	3 32	Culbertson	3 30	3 28 McCook	3 <b>4</b> 8	Indianola 3 27	Bartley 3 26	3 25			
	Stratto	6	it ch co				2 29	2 28	2 27	2 26	2 25 Wilsonvi			
	1 35	134	1 33	132	131	1 30	1 29	1 28	1 27 Dànbury	Lebanon 1 26	1 25			

MCCOOK Public Power Dist.
Board of Directors
Dennis Reiners, TrentonPresident
(308) 334-5421
Todd Deatrich, MaywoodVice President
(308) 367-4319
James Ruggles, McCookSecretary
(308) 340-9772
<b>Darren Pollmann, IndianolaTreasurer</b>
(308) 340-6033
Raymond Tillotson, FarnamDirector
(308) 569-2450
<b>Heath Bortner, McCook</b> Director
(308) 340-3428
The McCook Public Power District Board



of Directors meets monthly on the third Tuesday of each month at 9:00am at the District office in McCook, Nebraska. An agenda for the meeting is kept current and is available for inspection at the District office during normal business hours.

In January of 2022, John Scharf retired as a director, leaving Subdivision 3 a vacant office. Beginning June 1, 2022, Heath Bortner became the appointed director for Subdivision 3 for the remainder of the term. Pictured above, Bortner (left) is being sworn into office by Attorney Alexis Davidson.